Krieger & Ongert, Attorneys At Law
Speak with one of our attorneys today
281-557-6311
Main Menu

Texas takes drunk driving very seriously, and so should you

People make mistakes all the time. Sometimes, those mistakes can change your life. If you are facing driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges in the state of Texas, one mistake could cost you your freedom and a lot more.

Sometimes, DWI charges result from a poorly administered roadside sobriety test. Small mistakes on the part of law enforcement could have a major impact on your future. Other times, undiagnosed medical conditions could lead to driving that looks impaired and a false positive on a breath test.

A criminal defense attorney who has experience with DWI cases in Texas can help you after a DWI charge. Public defenders are often over-worked and may not have any relevant experience for this kind of case. Your best chance of a positive outcome when facing a DWI charge stems from retaining the help of an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney as soon as possible after your arrest. Speaking to law enforcement without an attorney present could just make your situation that much worse.

Everything is bigger in Texas, including DWI penalties

If you fail a roadside sobriety test or take a breath test that indicates you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher, you could face DWI charges. First time offenders could end up with a fine of up to $2,000, a jail sentence of between 3 and 180 days and loss of their license for up to a year. A second DWI charge carries a fine of up to $4,000, between a month and a year in jail and loss of your license for as long as two years. In both cases, you'll have to pay an annual fee of between $1,000 and $2,000 for three years once you do get your driver's license back.

Those with a commercial license are subject to even stricter rules. A BAC of just 0.04 percent could earn you a DWI charge. You're expected to wait at least four hours after having a single drink before getting behind the wheel of a commercial vehicle. If you don't comply, you could lose your license and your livelihood. Whether you were driving a personal vehicle or a commercial vehicle, if you have been charged with a DWI, you need to speak with an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.

Reduce the fallout from a DWI

A DWI conviction or guilty plea could haunt you for years. In addition to criminal penalties and the loss of your license, you could lose your job even if you don't drive for a living. Your criminal record could make it difficult to find a new job as well. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you explore your options, such as questioning the accuracy of the breath test or submitting medical evidence. You shouldn't try to face a DWI charge alone. The sooner you call an attorney for help, the better your chances for a positive outcome.

Source: Nov. 30, -0001

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Need Legal Advice?Get a Free Case Review

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Two Offices To Better Serve You

League City Office
215 E. Galveston St.
League City, TX 77573

Phone: 281-486-8125 x2
Fax: 281-332-7877
League City Law Office Map

Houston Office
17225 El Camino Real, Suite 320
Houston, TX 77058

Phone: 281-486-8125 x1
Fax: 281-480-0885
Houston Law Office Map

VISA | MasterCards | Amercian Express | Discover Network
Review Us